Events Archive

The Creative Case for Diversity in Britain

Wednesday, 23 Mar 2011 11:00am to 4:00pm
Date: 23 March 2011 Time: 11:00 Venue: College Building, City University London, Northampton Square, London EC1V 4PB Attendance is free but booking is ...

Palestinian Film Festival

Friday, 18 Mar to Sunday, 20 Mar 2011 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Palestinian Film Festival, Burns Centre Film Theatre, Dumfries Friday 18th March 7.30 pm Salt of this Sea Saturday 19 March 11am Occupation 101 followed by buffet lunch and discussion Saturday 7.30pm Pomegranates and ...

'Picnic in a Minefield: teaching women in Kurdistan' a Muslim Women in Education seminar

Tuesday, 15 Mar 2011 7:00pm to 8:15pm
Date: Tuesday 15th March Time: 7pm – 8.15pm Venue: The Women’s Library, 25 Old Castle Street, London E1 7NT To book a place email: directormwine@aol.com The new Iraq promised social, academic and personal freedom to its ...

Why is the European Left Losing Elections?

Tuesday, 8 Mar 2011 6:30pm to 8:00pm
Speaker: David Miliband MP Date: Tuesday 8 March 2011, 6.30-8pm Venue: Old Theatre Old Building, LSE, Houghton Street, WC2A 2AE For the first time since First World War, governments in Britain, France, Germany, Netherlands, Sweden ...

After the Dictators: Hopes and Fears for the Middle East

Tuesday, 8 Mar 2011 6:00pm
Date: Tuesday 8 March 2011 Time: 6 – 7:30pm Location: A130, College Building, 280 John Street, London EC1V 4PB On the panel: Dr Maha Azzam is an Associate Fellow of the Middle East and North Africa Programme at Chatham House, ...

Iran is a Paper Tiger

Thursday, 24 Feb 2011 6:45pm
Intelligence Squared debate Venue: Royal Geographical Society, 1 Kensington Gore, London, SW7 2AR Is President Ahmedinejad of Iran a serious threat? The Islamic regime in Iran loves to bare its claws and snarl, but isn’t this all ...

Is there a place for God in Education?

Wednesday, 23 Feb 2011 6:30pm
RSA Debates presents What is the purpose of education? And how does religious belief relate to that? Venue: RSA, 8 John Adam Street, London, WC2N 6EZ The RSA and Theos bring together a panel of expert commentators to debate these ...

Blasphemy and the erosion of democracy and secular space in Pakistan

Friday, 18 Feb 2011 6:00pm to 7:30pm
Najam Sethi (Editor-in-chief of Friday Times, award-winning Pakistani journalist) Date: 18 February 2011 Time: 6pm to 7.30pm Venue: SOAS, Russell Square, College Buildings Room: 4421 Facilitated by Nasreen Rehman, ...

Turmoil in the Arab World: is the genie of democratic out of the bottle?

Tuesday, 15 Feb 2011 6:45pm
Turmoil in the Arab world: is the genie of democracy out of the bottle? Tuesday 15th February, 6.45pm, Royal Geographical Society Keynote speeches by Roger Cohen and Tariq Ramadan Revolution or riot? After Tunisia and Egypt turned ...

Imagining Islamism: Literature, Film & Politics in the Arab World

Saturday, 12 Feb 2011 9:30am to 6:30pm
'Imagining Islamism: Literature, Film & Politics in the Arab World', is a one-day conference at the Storey Creative Industries Centre in Lancaster on Saturday 12 February 2011. The event features an outstanding line-up of ...